"All right, what’s with the weird poem?"


Her parents argue and fight almost every day. Not only is their marriage falling apart, but teenager Posy feels her life is falling apart with it. Amidst anger and tears, she retreats to the old library down the street. Posy selects one mysterious book in an undiscovered corner of the library and is magically drawn into another world.

Posy finds herself in a kingdom ruled by a cruel and manipulative king and queen who have attempted to usurp the role that belongs only to the Author of their story. The princess flees, an uprising is breaking out in the kingdom, and the prince and other characters fight against their slavery to the Plot.

Posy and the prince search for the fled princess, encountering hideous monster, fierce battles, incredible danger, and strange creatures Post only ever dreamed of. They must travel to mysterious places that expose the darkest part of the heart, their own raw far, and past wounds that haunt them. Will they find truth and forgiveness as they plunge into the book? Will Posy and the prince save the story? Will Posy heal the heartache she knew in her own world?

{the word changers came out may five}

I first heard of The Word Changers on Anne Elisabeth Stengl’s wonderful blog, and it piqued my interest. Naturally, I was broke from my last book-buying spree, so I decided to see if I had money when it came out. I watched as the book tour continued, and as people started reading it, and reviews popped up.
My first instinct was to be mad, but the shiny books on my kindle testified to the fact that I was broke for a good reason.
And, of course, I entered in several giveaways, just in case. I didn’t have much luck(as always). So when I read Ashlee Willis was giving out one last call for reviewers, I jumped on the chance. A good book in exchange for a truthful review… Surely writing a review would be as easy as it looked.
So I offered to review it.
I started The Word Changersthe very next day. At first, it was confusing, which I thought was rather brilliant. Posy is naturally confused by what’s happening, and if was good writing. Next I focused on the story. Though I found some of the characters a bit flat, the story drew me in, especially it’s Narnia-like feel. Ashlee Willis crafted a wonderful tale, and even slipped the Author in as a God-figure, who was simple and easy and others would have been complicated. I thoroughly enjoyed The Word Changers, and I can’t wait to see what others think! 🙂
There is some small romance, though, but it was not over the top like some.

Four stars! Well done, Ashlee Willis!


Enjoy! 
-Ryebrynn

P.S. Quote is from The Word Changers.

I recieved a free e-copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.
One thought on “"All right, what’s with the weird poem?"

Leave a Reply

