Thaw: Winter’s Child by E. Kaiser Writes


A barren king and queen pray for a child, and when in their loneliness, they make one out of snow, their prayers are answered in a special, and unusual way. 
Sometimes, when we get what we wish for, we don’t know what to do with it.

I started this book sensing a strong “Frozen” vibe(Disney). That continued throughout the book, and I felt likeit had a lot of similar elements to the Frozen movie.

THE GOOD

  1. The dynamics of Ilise’s relationships with her family were well done. There was a correct amount of tension, but there was still a good undercurrent of love in their relationship.
  2. I liked Kai.
  3. Ilise held onto herself throughout it all and I felt like even though she had changed greatly, she was still the same base person.
  4. The fairytale “feel” of the book. It was very fairytale-y.

THE BAD

  1. The Frozen stuff. This book seemed too much like Frozen(Disney movie), and I felt like that greatly weighed down it’s potential.
  2. The parents did seem a bit indifferent about their daughter at a few points in the book.
  3. The Stone King(Frozen, again).
  4. Girta(okay, okay, she isn’t “BAD”. But she was annoying. I probably liked that. She was real.)
  5. This book felt incomplete. I took a look at Thaw: Winter Queen, and it’s nearly two hundred pages long. The book after that, Thaw: Prince of Dermargen, was even longer. I felt like, considering the other books’ size, the seventy-three pages of Thaw: Winter’s Child were lacking. The ending of Thaw: Winter’s Child didn’t leave me wishing there was more to the series—it left me the other way around. I went, “Oh no, there’s more?” not “Yes! There’s more!”. I will indeed read the next book, but whether I review it or not depends on my opinion.
  6. There was was no story arc. This drove me mad. The story peaked a bit near the middle, but there was no conflict other than emotional. As a writer I was extremely bothered.

FOOTNOTE: This is my opinion. This book was good, but I don’t like Frozen, and as a result, I felt that this was a melted version of Frozen.

Three stars.  

-Ryebrynn
1 thought on “Thaw: Winter’s Child by E. Kaiser Writes”

Leave a Reply

