How a Star Falls by Amber Stokes


Derrick Knolane escapes to Trinidad Head most evenings, avoiding his apartment and planning for the day he’ll break free of Humboldt County. Working in a music store might be fine for a while, but it’s far from the goal he had in mind when he got his college degree. Not to mention the fact that his roommate is a jerk and his family won’t stop trying to run his life.
Then Brielle falls into his world.
She claims to be a star. Not from Hollywood, but from heaven. He thinks she’s crazy. Certainly delusional. Yet, he can’t just leave her alone on the cliffs. So he takes her home.
And his whole world falls apart.
A heartfelt and fanciful contemporary romance novella, How a Star Falls explores the uncertain season of new adulthood and shows that sometimes the worst inconveniences make for the best miracles of all.
DATE I STARTED THIS BOOK: 4/28/15
DATE I FINISHED THIS BOOK: 4/29/15
WHERE I GOT THIS BOOK: The author
FORMAT OF THE BOOK: Audio-book
How a Star Falls was cute, sweet, a wonderful twist on contemporary. Because this was a short book, and most of the things I loved about it were farther into it and spoilery, I’m writing a bite-sized review.
Instead of my usual list of things I like and things I don’t like, I’m just going to act normal on this one—if that sounds possible.
Brielle was a cute, fun, complicated character. She was happy, and she lightened the mood of the book. 
Derrick was a bit dour. He views himself as a failure. Usually, that would put the whole story down.l But, the balance of Brielle and Derrick gave us the chance of a dour character without feeling dour ourselves.
The description was top-notch. The world was where Ms. Stokes lives(I believe), so she was able to get every store, every restaurant, every trail spot-on. Nothing was skimped.
Overall, I rate this story four stars out of five. Cute, sweet, and a nice listen.

*I received a free audio-book copy of this story in exchange for my honest opinion.

Click on the image to go to Amazon!

*this review is also posted on I Love Books

1 thought on “How a Star Falls by Amber Stokes”

Leave a Reply

