The Tears of Dark Water by Corban Addison


Daniel and Vanessa Parker are an American success story. He is a Washington, DC, power broker, and she is a physician with a thriving practice. But behind the gilded façade, their marriage is a shambles, and their teenage son, Quentin, is self-destructing. In desperation, Daniel dusts off a long-delayed dream – a sailing trip around the world. Little does he know, the voyage he hopes will save them may destroy them instead. Half a world away on the lawless coast of Somalia, Ismail Adan Ibrahim is living a life of crime in violation of everything he was raised to believe – except for the love and loyalty driving him to hijack ships for ransom and plot the rescue of his sister, Yasmin, from the man who murdered their father. There is nothing he will not do to save her, even if it means taking innocent lives. Paul Derrick is the FBI’s top hostage negotiator. His twin sister, Megan, is a celebrated defense attorney. They have reached the summit of their careers by savvy, grit, and a secret determination to escape the memory of the day their family died. When Paul is dispatched to handle a hostage crisis at sea, he has no idea how far it will take him and Megan into the past – or the chance it will give them to redeem the future. Across continents and oceans, through storms and civil wars, the paths of these individuals converge in a single, explosive moment. It is a moment that will test them and break them, but it will also leave behind an unexpected glimmer of hope – that out of the ashes of tragedy and misfortune, the seeds of justice and reconciliation can grow.


Soooo THIS.
I’m not sure what I thought. Before you read this, I will let you know: I DNFed this book. Reasons will be stated below.
For starters, this book was written in a similar style as two other books I didn’t enjoy, one of which I DNFed. These books are The Scroll by Alton Gansky and Grant R. Jeffrey and A Treasure Deep by Alton Gansky.
I honestly wish I could have enjoyed this book. I loved the premise of the book (I mean, modern day pirates???? WHAT IS NOT TO LOVE?). But when I read it, it fell flat for me. Per usual, I read 40% of this book before DNFing it. Usually if a book starts out boring, I can get into by 40%. But with this book… That just wasn’t the case.
I really don’t have much to say. I felt that the characters were similarly written compared the other characters in the aforementioned books, and the writing was just… soo familiar. And not in a good way. The above is why I DNFed this book. And all those amount up to a waste of time. And I don’t have reading time to waste.
Note: THE COVER IS GORGEOUS

DISCLAIMER: I do not intend to say that this is a bad book. I’m sure it’s a lovely adventure across the high seas, but the writing, characters, and book didn’t suit me. But if you think that YOU would enjoy this book, go for it! The end is the limit 🙂

FOR THE PARENTS –
There was nothing inappropriate in the first 40%, except maybe a little violence and one or two cusswords. But still fairly clean.

Three stars – good premise but not for me
Leave a Reply

