The Heir War by Jill Williamson


Part 2 of Jill Williamson’s Epic Fantasy Series The Kinsman Chronicles 
With Prince Wilek still searching Armania for a murderer, his brother Prince Trevn finds himself pulled deeper into the dangerous politics of who will be Heir. Trevn, though, is far more interested in his studies with a local priest and the attentions of a young honor maiden.

The book that he has been copying during his lessons is not the book that teaches of the god of the soil. Instead, it teaches of a one true God. If accurate, then it means there is no soil god to satiate. There is nothing they can do to save their world, and all of King Echad’s sacrifices have been futile.

The Heir War is collected together with parts 1 and 3 in King’s Folly.

Goodness! This book just gets better and better as it goes on! Now, please don’t continue if you have not read Darkness Reigns. This review will contain MILD spoilers for that book.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Now, for those of you reading on.
If I thought Darkness Reignswas good, this book was so much better! I know I said this in my last review, but I’m just going to rehash it. Jill’s writing is some of the best I’ve ever read. It’s warm and fuzzy and homey even if it’s making you cry and murdering all of your favorite little characters.
And then there’s the characters. Ooh, yes! They were wonderful. I really loved Charlon’s inner conflict. She had a very interesting character journey and though she’s a evil character, I really cared about her. She was driven by absolutely human wants and needs and fears and I don’t think her heart’s gone quite bad yet.
I would take a moment here to talk about my favorite character, but I couldn’t choose one! Jill creates such complex stories and all of her characters shine in their on three-dimensional way. However, I can give special mentions of who I like the most.
Mielle– Because I loved her character voice (which was used more in DR but less in tHW) and how she just helps and loves Trevn.
Trevn– Because he feels and loves and is amazingly well-written and just a guy I’d love to be friends with if he were real.
Willet –I think Willet is technically one of our main characters? So he’s definitely a wonderful guy and he’s sweet and nice. I really like him.
Sorry that I didn’t give much detail on why I like some of these characters! I think one of the reasons is that I feel like these people could be my friends if they were real. And I honestly wish they were! They would make amazing friends.
Overall, I loved the plot, characters, and writing. This book is an amazing read! I was riveted and it left me wanting more. Luckily, I’ve got the next book on hand to start! (Confession: I already started the next book!)
Five out of five stars!

FOR THE PARENTS –
Like I said for Darkness Reigns, it is part of the culture for the powerful men to have multiple wives, mistresses, and concubines. So that is a big part of the book.
There is mild kissing, and if my memory is correct, it is implied a character sleeps with a different character? Nothing shown, though. Very clean.

*DISCLAIMER: I received an ARC copy of this book in serial form in exchange for my honest opinion.
Leave a Reply

