Luther and Katharina by Jody Hedlund


Katharina von Bora has seen nothing but the inside of cloister walls since she was five. In a daring escape, Katharina finds refuge with Martin Luther and seeks his help to pair her with the noble, wealthy husband she desires.
As class tensions and religious conflicts escalate toward the brink of war, Martin Luther believes that each day could be his last and determines he will never take a wife.
As the horrors of the bloody Peasant War break out around them, the proud Katharina and headstrong Martin Luther fight their own battle for true love, in one of the greatest love stories of history.


I’m not quite sure about this book. It kept me reading, had a sort of shippable romance, but it felt… lacking. I haven’t read all of Jody’s books, but I have read a lot of her recent ones (i.e. An Uncertain Choice, Unexpected Love, Hearts Made Whole, Undaunted Hope(and a less recent one which I forgot the name of :P)). I am a Jody Hedlund fan still, but this book…
My main problem with it is simple. Jody’s books dance on the line between sweet love and steamy love. Luther and Katharina’s love felt like the latter. I mean, I get it. Married people are steamy. But this book was about Luther proving he had sweet love for Katharina when I felt that what held their relationship together was the steamy love. I don’t consider myself an expert on love, but seriously. This didn’t feel like love. Their romance felt more like… lust?
HOWEVER. I still liked this book. Historically, it felt very informative and accurate. The storyline rambled a bit, but I won’t judge because I’ve written tons of rambling storylines. The characters were strong, the writing absolutely wonderful. Definitely a four star read for the writing and characters. But kicking off a star for the romance.

FOR THE PARENTS –
Intimacy – This book has much more mature content than any other Hedlund books I’ve read. Low high kissing, several suggestive scenes, and euphimisms. I wouldn’t recommend it to another 14 year old, so maybe 16+?
Cussing – None.
Intoxication – Some.

Violence – Low high. A lot of mentions of rape and blood and violence and kind of sort of graphic at some parts??
Leave a Reply

