You’re the One That I Want by Susan May Warren

Owen Christiansen has been in a downward spiral since an injury ended his NHL career. But a job on an Alaskan crabbing boat offers a fresh start . . . maybe even a shot at romance with Elise “Scotty” McFlynn, the captain’s daughter.

Used to being one of the guys, to never relying on anyone, Scotty doesn’t believe in happily ever after―especially with someone like Owen. Her instinct is confirmed when Casper Christiansen arrives to drag his prodigal brother home, bringing with him a truckload of family drama―and even worse, the news that Casper is wanted for questioning in connection to a crime back in Minnesota.

But Owen is more than the sum of his mistakes, a truth both he and Scotty discover when she escorts both brothers to Deep Haven as part of her new job on the Anchorage police force. Thrust into an unfamiliar world of family, faith, and fresh starts, Scotty begins to see potential for a happy ending . . . if she’s brave enough to embrace it.

Susan May Warren, Deep Haven—those are auto-buy names for me. And this book proves exactly why. I fell for my least favorite character in the whole series, plus a whole new girl who is just amazing. This book is everything I ask for in a Deep Haven book—funny, emotional, romantic.
This book is the perfect conclusion to the Christiansen Family series.
Over the past few years, this series has been one of my favorites. I have devoured and anticipated each book as it came, and I can’t tell you how sorry I am to see it conclude. But if I could have chosen the plot, the end, anything more about this book, I wouldn’t change a thing. They say that the author knows best…
Susan May Warren definitely does. This book is written with the suave of a pro, the characters sculpted like perfect pottery(ugh, awful metaphor, I know).
So honestly what I’m trying to say is that this book blew me away and consumed me. Normally, I would say you can read this as a standalone. But don’t. The experience is so much better with the history of the Christiansens, and all the characters in this book. Almost every character was from another book, their character and emotions and our understanding of them built on that.
Read the Christiansen series. You won’t regret.
But you might just cry when it ends. I know I did.

Intimacy – Mild kissing, mentions of rape and sleeping around. A character has an illegitimate child.
Cussing – None.

Violence – Some mild fighting, mentions of rape, murder.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s