The Outliers by Kimberly McCreight


It all starts with a text: Please, Wylie, I need your help. Wylie hasn’t heard from Cassie in over a week, not since their last fightBut that doesn’t matter. Cassie’s in trouble, so Wylie decides to do what she has done so many times before: save her best friend from herself.

This time it’s different, though. Instead of telling Wylie where she is, Cassie sends cryptic clues. And instead of having Wylie come by herself, Jasper shows up saying Cassie sent him to help. Trusting the guy who sent Cassie off the rails doesn’t feel right, but Wylie has no choice but to ignore her gut instinct and go with him.

But figuring out where Cassie is goes from difficult to dangerous, fast. As Wylie and Jasper head farther and farther north into the dense woods of Maine, Wylie struggles to control her growing sense that something is really wrong. What isn’t Cassie telling them? And could finding her be only the beginning?

In this breakneck tale, New York Times bestselling author Kimberly McCreight brilliantly chronicles a fateful journey that begins with a single decision—and ends up changing everything.


This book is the queen of twists. I never completely knew what was going on because every time I settled on a situation, it twisted and changed and shocked me utterly. This book isn’t what you think at the beginning, and even at the end it still isn’t what you think. This book epitomizes the phrase “Nothing is as it seems”. Don’t trust anything.
I love the writing. AOSKKQKNDIJ so good. You never quite know what’s going on and I LOVED that. I’m always guessing when I read books, figuring out the twists beforehand. I didn’t do that with this book because I was meant to guess. I was meant to realize there might be something coming. I was meant to be blown away by what does come. I adored the complexity of the story, because it had the balance it needed. It wasn’t the sort of complexity that confused you as you went. It was the type that drew you along and kept you reading and immersed with a small but intended dose of confusion.
I loved the character development in this as well. Each character is well-built, with a story to tell. My favorite by far was Quentin or Wylie. For reasons 😛
THE NAMES in this story were amaaaazing. I totally geeked out over them. I mean, who sees the name WYLIE in books this days???
The suspense in this story is KILLER. I went in not knowing much, only having seen the EpicReads book trailer for this, and I basically died from the pace of this. SO AMAZING.
(also, the stuff about the babies? ao creepy.)

FOR THE PARENTS –
Intimacy – Innuendos, mentions of sleeping around and sex.
Cussing – This is literally the only place that this book let me down. It’s the reason this book is four stars instead of five. The f-bomb is used A LOT. Plus sh** and d**n and probably more.

Violence – There is a fair amount, plus this book is super freaky. Not recommend to people who scare easily.  
Leave a Reply

