The End of All Things by Jill Williamson


Part 3 of Jill Williamson’s Epic Fantasy Series The Kinsman Chronicles 
With the Five Realms on the brink of total destruction, everyone faces a final mad scramble to find a safe haven. The realm is divided on what should be done. Wilek and Trevn join those who are preparing the realm for a seaward evacuation, but the king stands in their way. Wilek must battle against his own father to try and save the people of Armania.


The End of All Things is collected together with parts 1 and 2 in King’s Folly.

Jill has done it again! I am wowed by this last part of King’s Folly. WARNING: There may be minor spoilers for Darkness Reignsbelow.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Okay, y’all! We continue. This book is hopping with things going on. Essentially, it is the climax of King’s Folly, and therefore there is just so much going on! Shall we jump in?
I’m going to save the compliments for dessert and talk about something I really didn’t like about Darkness Reigns, The Heir War, and The End of all Things. It is simply them. I loved the content as one whole story. I would have loved to read it through. But seeing this content serialized… It really jolted me out of the story. I found myself dropping interest in between parts. As a story, I don’t think that King’s Follywas correct for this form of publishing. I felt Darkness Reigns had trouble standing on it’s own, and where I expected full plot I got a mere chunk. I can understand how the plot of a series works, but this story didn’t have that sort of plot. This may seem harsh, and don’t get me wrong. I LOVED THIS STORY. But in the form I read it in (serialized), it felt very disjointed and once I got into the story, it would end. I can understand this format for larger books, but honestly 190 or so pages is what it takes for me to get into a story like this, and it just felt…. Awkward? Is that the correct word? But enough with my complaints. Now for the section where I RAVE.

I absolutely adored the writing, per usual, and the characters were ah! wonderful. The plot was a glorious conclusion to King’s Follyand I just lovedlovedloved it! I absolutely loved how Charlon’s character evolved as she chased down Willek. And Mielle and Trevn! Aghck. I might just die for how much I adore their relationship ❤ The tension and staked definitely get raised in this stunning tale and I loved every minute of it! As usual, I positively adored the world and felt perfectly at home in it. Honestly. I could go and live there if it wasn't for the earthquakes. Which brings me to my next point. I was very glad that they became a larger part of the story in this, because in Darkness Reignsand The Heir War, they were just… there. But in this story we get to learn why they are there and experience them much, much more. I loved everything about this! Minus the serialization, of course.
Five stars!

FOR THE PARENTS
This book contained almost no inappropriate content. There was mild kissing and innuendos.

*DISCLAIMER: I received an ARC copy of this book in serial form in exchange for my honest opinion.

Leave a Reply

