King’s Folly by Jill Williamson


An Epic New Fantasy Series from
Fan Favorite Jill Williamson

This omnibus edition collects the first three parts of the Kinsman Chronicles:
 Part 1–Darkness Reigns
 Part 2–The Heir War
 Part 3–The End of All Things


The gods are angry.
Volcanic eruptions, sinkholes, ground shakers–everything points to their unhappiness. At least that is what the king of Armania believes. His son, Prince Wilek, thinks his father’s superstitions are nonsense, though he remains the ever dutiful First Arm of Armania. 
When a messenger arrives and claims that the town of Farway has been swallowed by the earth, the king sends Wilek to investigate. But what Wilek discovers is more cataclysmic than one lost city. Even as the ground shifts beneath his feet, Wilek sets out on a desperate journey to save his people and his world. But can he do it before the entire land crumbles?


I loved the content as one whole story. I would have loved to read it through. But seeing this content serialized… It really jolted me out of the story. I found myself dropping interest in between parts. As a story, I don’t think that King’s Follywas correct for this form of publishing. I felt Darkness Reigns had trouble standing on it’s own, and where I expected full plot I got a mere chunk. I can understand how the plot of a series works, but this story didn’t have that sort of plot. This may seem harsh, and don’t get me wrong. I LOVED THIS STORY. But in the form I read it in (serialized), it felt very disjointed and once I got into the story, it would end. I can understand this format for larger books, but honestly 190 or so pages is what it takes for me to get into a story like this, and it just felt…. Awkward? Is that the correct word? But enough with my complaints. Now for the section where I RAVE.

I absolutely loved this story. But I loved some parts more than others. NAMELY, Mielle+Trevn, worldbuilding, writing, politics… THIS BOOK WAS SO MUCH DEFINITELY HIGH FANTASY. Oh yes. Jill has created a world that will claim you with fervor and characters that will seem like friends. The politics of her world are complicated, yet easy to understand, the characters complex, yet lovable. I loved every second of this book. This book contained at least four different POV characters. Usually when this goes on I get confused or annoyed, but I looked forward to every different character’s voice and view. I had no trouble telling these characters apart, and each was completely original and well-formed. I even cared for those not on the good side! I am genuinely entwined and interested in these characters lives and I positively cannot wait for King’s Blood, when I can join them yet again for an adventure. I shall miss these lovely, lovely people and their world. Until next time, I shall treasure the time spent with them.

OKAY PLEASE GIVE ME A MOMENT TO GEEK OUT.
SHE ENDED THE BOOK WITH “NOT THE END” I GREW UP READING “NOT THE END” FOR EVERY BLOOD OF KINGS BOOK. YESYESYESYESYESYES. THAT WAS ABSOLUTE AND WONDERFUL PERFECTION. WELL DONE, JILL.

Not the End.

Five stars!

FOR THE PARENTS
As a part of the world Jill is representing, many of the men have concubines, including on the main POV characters. There is kissing, implied sex, and innuendos, but nothing shown. One of the characters also has a quest to get pregnant by another character.

*DISCLAIMER: I received an ARC copy of this book in serial form in exchange for my honest opinion.
Leave a Reply

