The Bronte Plot by Katherine Reay


Lucy Alling makes a living selling rare books, often taking suspicious measures to reach her goals. When her unorthodox methods are discovered, Lucy’s secret ruins her relationship with her boss and her boyfriend James—leaving Lucy in a heap of hurt, and trouble. Something has to change; she has to change.

In a sudden turn of events, James’s wealthy grandmother Helen hires Lucy as a consultant for a London literary and antiques excursion. Lucy reluctantly agrees and soon discovers Helen holds secrets of her own. In fact, Helen understands Lucy’s predicament better than anyone else.

As the two travel across England, Lucy benefits from Helen’s wisdom, as Helen confronts the ghosts of her own past. Everything comes to a head at Haworth, home of the Brontë sisters, where Lucy is reminded of the sisters’ beloved heroines, who, with tenacity and resolution, endured—even in the midst of change.

Now Lucy must go back into her past in order to move forward. And while it may hold mistakes and regrets, she will prevail—if only she can step into the life that’s been waiting for her all along.

The Bronte Plotwas a good read, and I loved seeing into a bookseller’s life. Lucy’s problems felt very real, and the story wasn’t super fast paced. It was a nice slow read, compared to the fast, upbeat reads that make up my TBR.
This book was heavilysteeped in famous literature. I liked that, mostly because a lot of people don’t enjoy classics as much these days, so I liked seeing something new come from the classics, from a love of them.
Okay, so let me admit this. I didn’t ship Lucy and James. I know I’m supposed to, but I didn’t. I wasn’t the biggest fan of James and I felt that, while everything in the story was well-written, he was a flat character that fit into the Christian Fiction mold. I didn’t feel his passions, or even slightly care for him. Simply, I felt like he was merely there to push Lucy to supposedly reinvent herself (which she didn’t really do?).
So this brings me to the plot. Which wasn’t exactly… there. This story was very character-based. It’s intended to be a man-learned-better story. But, even though Lucy had to tell people about her indiscretions, I saw a character change on the surface but I didn’t feel it in the story. Lucy didn’t lose anything because of her change. Sure, she had to stop buying from the wrong people and forging the signatures of famous authors. But I didn’t feel a huge change in Lucy herself.
FOR THE PARENTS –
Drinking – the characters drink champagne
Intimacy – There might be kissing?
Cussing – None 

Leave a Reply

