Monthly Wrap-Up (books!)

Whispers in the Reading Room by Shelley Gray
Rating: Four stars
Review Link: No review
Brief Thoughts: This was good. I liked the main character and enjoyed the writing. Suspenseful

The Inheritance by Michael Phillips
Rating: One star
Review Link: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1595590049
Brief Thoughts: The Inheritance is one of those books that I DNFed merely because of how monstrously BORED I was. When I read the synopsis, it seemed like it would be a fun self-discovery story with Scottish threads and rich heritage. What I found was not a rich, fun self-discovery story. I was confused, disinterested, and downright frustrated. 

 The Bronte Plot by Katherine Reay 
Rating: Three stars
Review Link: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1465428071?book_show_action=false
Brief Thoughts: The Bronte Plot was a good read, and I loved seeing into a bookseller’s life. Lucy’s problems felt very real, and the story wasn’t super fast paced. It was a nice slow read, compared to the fast, upbeat reads that make up my TBR. 



 The Wedding Dress by Rachel Hauck
Rating: Four stars
Review Link: No review.
Brief Thoughts: I liked this! It was a solid start.




 The Wedding Chapel
Rating: Four stars
Review Link: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1448281330
Brief Thoughts: This book looks like a kissy-kissy romance from the outside. It isn’t. It’s about two people trying to save their failing relationship It’s about two old flames who have regrets. 
I wasn’t sure what to expect with this book. I didn’t pay a lot of attention to the synopsis, because how could I go wrong with a Rachel Hauck book? 
Here’s why this book isn’t five stars. I nearly DNF-ed this book in the first 100 pages. I was confused by the storytelling(the story is told partially in 2015, and partially in 1948, 49, 50).




 Traitor Angels by Anne Blankman
Rating: Four stars
Review Link: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1481507608?book_show_action=false
Brief Thoughts: My reading of this was rather choppy and unecissarily extended, but overall, I enjoyed it. It was a cool twisty original story. I cried at the end.






 Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare
Rating: Five stars
Review Link: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1358922156
Brief Thoughts: This was SOOOO good! It was a solid end and I loved it. I sobbed
and sobbed
and sobbed
(but also that epilogue was iffy)





Queen of Hearts by Colleen Oakes
Rating: Four stars
Review Link: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1548694331?book_show_action=false
Brief Thoughts: I loved the characters within this book. The writing left something to be desired, but the characters charged the story. I loved looking into the Queen of Hearts. However, I did feel like this was a story that didn’t have to be set in Wonderland? It could have been set anywhere. Overall I enjoyed this.



Well, that’s all. Overall, my favorite book this month was probably Clockwork Princess!

Leave a Reply

