Five Magic Spindles by Various Authors

ac46bd_bef9cfee3dfd47eb9c5874d322c9736a

Awaken the Magic!

Emma, a good-hearted midwife, rushes to warn a neighbor about the hired gunman headed to his ranch but can’t prevent the catastrophe in store for his daughter.

Palli, the prophesied daughter of a king, is fated to rescue her people from the destruction called forth by a vengeful priest.

Roselee, a ghost with a faulty memory, flits through the halls of an insane asylum in search of the mortal boy who can help her save the day.

Arabella, a living spirit trapped in her own comatose body, helplessly watches from the realm of dreams as her usurping cousin plots to destroy her once and for all.

Tanza, a tomb raider on a distant planet, struggles to make a living and doesn’t need a long-lost prince to complicate her difficult life.

One way or another, these beauties have no intention of sleeping away their problems.

The Man on the Buckskin Horse –
The Man on the Buckskin Horse was rich, new, and unexpected. I thoroughly enjoyed it as a story, but the downside was the sleeping beauty element. Because it was in this anthology, I knew the element was there but if I had read this by itself, I would have had no idea. That was a bit of a disappointment, but I really liked the rest of the story. I thought the choice of narrator was bold and fit the story well, and I really enjoyed the romance and plot. 3.75 stars out of 5

Guardian of our Beauty –
This story is classic fantasy, much like most retelling of Sleeping Beauty. That aspect could have been a setback, but the well written and fresh story within makes the rich fantasy world a perk. I loved the characters and the plot was fun and fast-paced. My one qualm was the names. They were all fairly complicated and if I had to I would never be able to really pronounce them. 4.5 out of 5 stars

The Ghost of Briardale –
This story was fun and unique. I wasn’t sure what to expect, and I found myself surprised. The world is kind of fantasy? There are elves and the like but also humans in a semi-modern town. I didn’t connect with all the characters, so this is probably my least favorite story so far. I’m excited for the next one though!

Spindle Cursed –
This story is a fantasy story. I wasn’t sure how it would work because there’s already a very good fantasy story in this anthology. Surprisingly, it was really good. I loved the writing style, and the story was fun and full of good characters. Now, the romance does feel a bit like insta-love, but given the circumstances it makes sense. 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Out of the Tomb –
I wasn’t super interested in this one. But once I started reading it I was surprised by the rich science fiction world, and the depth of the main characters. There was no romance, which was a nice change. My only problem was the placement of this story. I think it would have done better as a middle or opening story, mostly because sweet romances are good closers for an anthology. 4.5 out of 5 stars.

FOR THE PARENTS –
KISSING – mild amounts
Drinking/Drugs – None
Cussing – None
Violence – Mild amounts.

answer in the comments below:

DO YOU LIKE SLEEP?

1 thought on “Five Magic Spindles by Various Authors”

  1. Oh so glad you enjoyed this anthology! 😀 I’ve heard vaguely of it around but I haven’t read it yet…or well, I’ve only ever read one anthology in ever hahah.😂 And to answer your question: I do like sleep…when I get it! I’m a mild insomniac though so I spend more time reading than sleeping.😂

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

Leave a Reply

