Saving Red by Sonya Sones

F16_SavingRed

Right before winter break, fourteen-year-old Molly Rosenberg reluctantly volunteers to participate in Santa Monica’s annual homeless count, just to get her school’s community service requirement out of the way. But when she ends up meeting Red, a spirited homeless girl only a few years older than she is, Molly makes it her mission to reunite her with her family in time for Christmas. This turns out to be extremely difficult—because Red refuses to talk about her past. There are things Molly won’t talk about either. Like the awful thing that happened last winter. She may never be ready to talk about that. Not to Red, or to Cristo, the soulful boy she meets while riding the Ferris wheel one afternoon.

When Molly realizes that the friends who Red keeps mentioning are nothing more than voices inside Red’s head, she becomes even more concerned about her well-being. How will Molly keep her safe until she can figure out a way to get Red home? In Sonya Sones’ latest novel, two girls, with much more in common than they realize, give each other a new perspective on the meaning of family, friendship, and forgiveness.

This book.

This book.

This book.

I have no idea

where to even start.

This book

Ripped out

My heart.

And that’s all I’m going to write in verse 😛 speaking of things written in verse, THIS BOOK IS. It’s the first book I’ve ever read written in verse, so it was a totally new experience for me.

This book is one the best representations of mental illness I’ve read. The main character, Molly, has panic attacks. It’s something I’ve dealt with, and I feel like the author showed it in a raw and honest way, a way she couldn’t have without the style she implemented. I know a lot of books use verse these days, so I know to me the style and story was so unique. To others, maybe it’s not, but I really enjoyed it. Another character is super mentally unstable but I love how it shows she still a person, still human.

There is a really sweet, wonderful romance but it’s not the whole point of the book, or super overwhelming. It was really cute and lovely.

So let’s talk about the characters. There are really only six, which made this book really pop. Because there wasn’t a ton, each one really got fleshed out and explored. I really loved all the characters, and I adored every word of the story within these pages.

I’m not going to say much more, because I knew nothing about this story before reading it and the reading experience was so, so good.

The verdict? GO READ THIS BOOK.

CONTENT GUIDE –

Intimacy – thoughts of kissing, a mentally ill character nearly strips, then nearly gets attacked by rapists

Drugs/drinking – a major character is hooked on pot

Cursing – almost none

Violence – none, but this book is really intense.

Leave a Reply

