The Sound of Diamonds by Rachelle Rea

In Reformation-era England, a converted rogue wants to restore his honor at whatever cost. Running from a tortured past, Dirk Godfrey knows he has only one chance at redemption.
An independent Catholic maiden seeking refuge in the Low Countries finds herself at the center of the Iconoclastic Fury. Jaded by tragedy, Gwyneth’s only hope of getting home is to trust the man she hates, and she soon discovers her poor vision is not the only thing that has been blinding her.
But the home Gwyneth knew is not what she once thought. When a dark secret and a twisted plot for power collide in a castle masquerading as a haven, will the saint and the sinner hold to hope…or be overcome?

Okay, so let me just preface this with the fact that there is probably nothing wrong with this book. But I have promised to give my honest opinion so here it is.
The writing is very good. It really draws you in.
The characters are great.
But here’s my problem. I wasn’t in the mood for this type of book right now and I felt that really held me back. I really wanted to love it and I had really hyped myself up for it, but in the end it wasn’t a favorite. What mostly threw me off was the English. I don’t read a ton of historicals any more which take place in the same era as this one, so I’m used to easy to read English that would flow off the tongue. I really felt like the English in this was really realistic and true to the setting but just not my thing right now.
In a few months, a year I might pick this one up again. I may loveit then. But right now I’m not in the mood. There were some parts I really enjoyed but not enough to get me obsessed.
DISCLAIMER
I am in NO way saying you shouldn’t read this book. As I said, I wasn’t in the specific mood I needed to be in to love this book but that doesn’t mean you won’t love it! Seriously. I realize reviews are written to either usher a person away or towards a certain book, but if this book sounds like something you’d love, then READ IT. Don’t you dare let me stop you.

CONTENT GUIDE –
sexual – mild
cussing – none
drunkenness – none
violence – mild

1 thought on “The Sound of Diamonds by Rachelle Rea”

Leave a Reply

