#Famous by Jilly Gagnon

In this modern-day love story, Girl likes Boy, Girl takes photo of Boy and posts it online, Boy becomes accidentally insta-famous. And what starts out as an innocent joke spirals into a whirlwind adventure that could change both their lives—and their hearts—forever. But are fame and love worth the price?

Told in alternating points of view, #famous captures the out-of-control thrill ride of falling for someone in front of everyone.

I started this book because I needed a cutesy romance after reading ALLEGEDLY and this book fit the bill. It delivered exactly what I needed. A little drama, a lot of romance, and a fresh story.

Also: this book is soooo funny. Rachel is a riot to read.

(examples below)

“Oh dear god, someone take this shovel away from me so I can stop digging my own fricking grave”

(okay so I was going to be super professional and put a bunch of quotes here but I seem to have lost all the ones I highliged in my e-ARC) (omg I’m so lame)

Kyle is a sweet blueberry muffin who must be protected and married because he is caring and thoughtful and adorable. These two are perfect for each other because he supports her and loves her and empowers her and she loves him and listens to him and ahhhhhhhh

Okay, so one thing I did have a problem with is that there is a bit of bullying at the beginning of the book and it’s never really dealt with? It just kind of gets dismissed. I felt like there should have been a storyline dealing with the bullying because it was some really awful stuff and we need the rep of people standing up to bullies.

Other than that though it was a really fun, cute story and something you could quickly read. It had an original concept and well written and executed!

CONTENT GUIDE –

sexual – mild kissing, one weird scene, weird kissing, innuendos

cussing – mild

violence – none

drinking – some underage drunkenness

Leave a Reply

