Magic, Backstabbing, and Romance??? (sign me up!)

In the second volume of Jill Williamson’s Kinsman Chronicles, a remnant has escaped the destruction of the Five Realms and now lives on several hundred ships adrift at sea. As a flock, they sail north into the unknown in hopes of finding land that might become their new home.
As the king’s illness worsens, SAr Wilek takes authority over the expedition and struggles to rule the disjointed people, while assassination attempts, vicious serpents, and dark magic endanger his life.
One prophecy has come to pass, but another looms dauntingly in the future. Who is this Deliverer? And if the Magonians have him, what might that mean for the realm of Armania?

This book is monstrous and took me ages to read, but it was so worth it. I want to just tell you it’s a masterpiece and then force you to read it but this is a review so I can’t stop there. SO Y’ALL LET’S TALK WRITING. Jill’s writing is absolute a delight to read. She immerses you in this fantastic and dangerous storyworld with such superb characters and a plot that never lets you rest.

This book had so many twists. Not a dull moment in it. In some books, this would make it boring, and almost repetitive, but as I’ve said before, Jill is such an an amazing writing that even her grocery list would probably be well-plotted and amazing (okay, maybe that’s a stretch but it’s seriously so good omg).

I know every time I review one of her books I drone on about her ahmazing writing but it’s almost as if I forget just how good it is until I sit down to read one chapter and end up reading half of the book.

A really cool thing about King’s Folly and King’s Blood is that they don’t say when they change chapters. Instead, it just says the POV who narrates the chapter, which I think helps immerse the reader (Though whenever I said β€œjust one more chapter” I always ended up reading several more).

And while we’re talking about the POV changes, let me just say: they are handled so well. Jill manages to have most of the main and major characters narrate chapters without it becoming confusing. And I’m easily confused so this is such a blessing.

Something super fun about this book was getting to see them reach Er’Rets and name it, and discover blood(omg I totally blanked on this name. It’s been way too long since I reread tBoK :p), and all of this cool stuff that I recognize from the Blood of Kings. It was like a bonus level.

Okay, so here’s the part of the review where I scream.

OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG MY SHIPSSSS ALSO THERE WERE SEA MONSTERS OMG AND MY SHIPSS ALL SAILED AND THAT ENDING OMG OMG I TOTALLY CRIED AND I ACTUALLY HAVEN’T STOPPED YET OMG OMG OMG THIS BOOK IS ABSOLUTE PERFECTION SO I’M JUST GOING TO GO HUG IT AND CRY IT OUT BECAUSE THAT ENDING DESTROYED ME AND NOW I NEED THERAPY SO BYE

One thought on “Magic, Backstabbing, and Romance??? (sign me up!)

Leave a Reply

