Book Review: Eliza and her Monsters

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community, and has no desire to try.
Then Wallace Warland, Monstrous Sea‘s biggest fanfiction writer, transfers to her school. Wallace thinks Eliza is just another fan, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart.

This was my first Francesca Zappia book and I found the story amazing and emotional and the characters touching and relatable. I found myself at a loss for words when I knew I had to write a review because there are some books you can’t sum up in a large or small amount of words. The best books make you feel something, even if the book doesn’t speak out about impending issues, even if the story itself is just so beautiful you can’t help but love it.
Eliza and Her Monsters was one of those stories, I came out of it feeling something. Eliza was such a strong character, very real and very relatable. She overcame some really tough obstacles and faced a lot of pain and came out the other side amazing.
This story seems like it would be about the romance, or a guy swooping in, but it’s about a girl with a passion who, in her own way, saves herself.
The romance is very cute and very wonderful and VERY shippable. Wallace has his own flaws but they really loved each other and I loved how even the relationship wasn’t perfect. It had its flaws, but at the heart they bother really loved each other.
Gimme a sec her because we have GOT to talk about Emmy. She’s apparently 14. IN COLLEGE. And also she’s basically a BADASS yo. She’s everything I want to be. Like seriously. BEST CHARACTER (maybe) (idk bc they’re all amazeballs)
The world felt very real, and I feel like a lot of that was due to Wheelhouse Turn. It definitely added a little character to the town which helped the story SO MUCH.
also I feel like this was extra relatable for me, because I spent ages 9-13.5 dedicating all my free time to an online forum and honestly those were some of the best friends I ever had. It helped me through a really tough time of transition where I moved to a new continent and the people on the forum were all the friends I had. Even though I don’t go on the forum much anymore, I still check in, and honestly I don’t even know if I’d still be alive right now without that forum carrying me through and pointing me to where I needed to really fall.
SHEESH, THAT GOT DEEP Y’ALL. 🤔
Eliza and her Monsters was delectably written, with badass characters, and a story that really hits home ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

CONTENT GUIDE –
Sexual – kissing, innuendos, crude talk
Cussing – this has a fair bit of cussing, including the f-bomb.
Violence – barely
Imbibing – none

One thought on “Book Review: Eliza and her Monsters

Leave a Reply

