Book Review & GIVEAWAY: Who She Was

Trevor Adler loathes the music he used to love, but it’s the key to his full-ride scholarship and the ticket away from his dysfunctional parents. To kick off their freshman year, Trevor’s roommate drags him to a frat party, where he ends up face-to-face with his childhood best friend and finds himself entrenched in memories he’d rather forget.
Unable to let Charlie go again without understanding the truth of why she disappeared from his life and chose to become the type of person they always hated, Trevor is relentless in his pursuit of the girl he once knew.
Charlotte (Charlie) Logan is broken. Under her perfectly-crafted exterior are the shards of a shattered heart. A handful of angry words changed her life completely and Charlie’s never been able to forgive herself for the truth she’s hidden from everyone.
While Trevor pushes Charlie to remember the music that lit her soul and the laughter they shared, they find themselves reverting to a banter-filled rhythm that feels all too familiar, yet different now. When Trevor’s own secrets come to light, it becomes clear he and Charlie both must face their tragic pasts if they have any hope at a future together.

It’s always a risk to take a chance on a self-published book because a lot of the books self-pubbed tend to need a lot more editing. And as a grammar nerd I die a little inside whenever people misspell a word. But with this book I am so glad I decided to take a chance on it.
The writing in this book is gorgeous and lyrical and it actually has some lyrics in it too. As you can read in the Author’s Note at the end, Stormy has had some real experience with the subject matter in this book (maybe trigger warning, idk) and that definitely shows, just as it would show in a historical when the author knows what they’re talking about.
This book is raw and brutal and heartwrenching and it needs to be read. It deals with teen suicide, depression, mental illness, having an alcoholic parent, and abuse, both verbal and physical. While I haven’t dealt with physical abuse, I definitely know what it feels like to be verbally abused and it hurts. This books portrayed the pain and reality of both physical and verbal abuse with grace and sensitivity. It’s dual-narrated by Charlie and Trevor, who I absolutely fell in love with. The story and characters and emotion in this book brought me to tears more than once.
I honestly expected this book to be about the romance, and while it featured an AMAZING relationship, it wasn’t just some romance. This book is more important than that.
This features the reality of mental illness, the broken mindset that it’s something that can be “healed” or something that you can just get over. It’s something a lot of people have to live with, and while taking medicine helps, it’s not a magic cure. This is something a lot of people make the mistake of assuming and I think it’s really important to have this represented in a book.
This also deals with teen suicide and grief. I don’t have experience to touch on teen suicide, but I am all to familiar with grief. I’ve lost and it hurts. This book has such a raw and excellent representation of grief, and omg I just can’t talk about this without getting teared up. I’m so, so glad I read this book. It’s so important to read.
Before I go, I’m dying to talk about the ROMANCE in this story. I’m honestly a romance nerd. I love it. This book took the cake for a healthy and wonderful and amazing and caring relationship. The only time I’ve read about a romance as good as this was in INTERMISSION by Serena Chase, and that romance was superb. Honestly, someday I just want a guy like Trevor or Noah. PLEASE AND THANK YOU.
This book was raw and honest and real and needs to be read. FIVE STARS. THIS BOOK DESERVES IT.
(while I’m kicking my content guide to the curb, I will mention if something is violent or if there’s tons of cussing, or sexual content. This book has mild cussing and it deals with some rough stuff)

five

What books do you love that feature teen suicide and grief in an honest, real, and raw way?

because I loved this book so much, and because I truly think it’s something a lot of people need to read, I’m going to give away an e-copy to one lucky person! Enter below and thank you so much for reading! The giveaway is US only, sorry!

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

2 thoughts on “Book Review & GIVEAWAY: Who She Was

Leave a Reply

