Five Healthy YA Book Boyfriends

So about a week and a half ago, Aimee Meester posted this tweet and it got me thinking about my OTPs, and how many healthy relationships I’ve actually read in YA. So here’s five healthy YA book boyfriends
(I highly recommending reading the tweet thread before this list)
(these are in no particular order)

Noah from Intermission by Serena Chase

intermission_fc

.

Noah was one of the first book boyfriends I read about that made me think: this is the kind of guy I want to be with someday. He’s sweet, thoughtful, respectful. He’s my dream guy tbh.

 

 

 

Trevor from Who She Was by Stormy Smith

unnamed

.

I’ve actually compared Noah and Trevor before, because even though I didn’t realize it, I was subconsciously acknowledging the fact that both he and Noah are healthy boyfriends. No spoilers, but Trevor makes a point of giving Charlie space to say no, to be his equal in their relationship.

 

 

 

Levi from the Color Project by Sierra Abrams

tcpcover

.

Levi is a dreamy young man who is secretly an angel with perfect hair. There’s a part in the book where Bee tells him something that would make a lot of guys walk away, but he tells her he’s okay with it, and it’s beautiful. He’s respectful and adorable and I love him so much.

 

 

 

Rhysand from A Court of Mist and Fury/A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas

a-court-of-mist-and-fury

.

While there a lot of people who will fight this opinion, Rhysand has proved himself so many times to to be a healthy guy. While he is on the dark and broody spectrum, he’s also respectful to Feyre, and doesn’t try to stifle her. He doesn’t force her into a relationship or try to push her to change her “no”s to “yes”s.

 

 

Jase from My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

my-life-next-door

Jase is such an important book boyfriend tbh. I didn’t immediately think of him for this list, like I did with a few others above, but all that aside he is definitely a healthy book boyfriend. This was one of the first books I read that actually featured a relationship where the two have sex, and while I don’t love reading sex in the books I read, it felt well written in here, because there was a lot of emphasis on consent and Jase and Samantha talked about it a lot before diving in.

.

 

LET’S DISCUSS! What are your favorite healthy book boyfriends? TELL ME ALL THE THINGS!

(if you disagree with any book boyfriends on this list, please remain civil about it. Keep it kind in the comments!)

 

 

One thought on “Five Healthy YA Book Boyfriends

Leave a Reply

