Book Review: The Color Project

b2ap3_thumbnail_the-color-projectBernice Aurora Wescott has one thing she doesn’t want anyone to know: her name. That is, until Bee meets Levi, the local golden boy who runs a charity organization called The Color Project.

Levi is not at all shy about attempting to guess Bee’s real name; his persistence is one of the many reasons why Bee falls for him. But while Levi is everything she never knew she needed, giving up her name would feel like a stamp on forever. And that terrifies her.

When unexpected news of an illness in the family drains Bee’s summer of everything bright, she is pushed to the breaking point. Losing herself in The Color Project—a world of weddings, funerals, cancer patients, and hopeful families that the charity funds—is no longer enough. Bee must hold up the weight of her family, but to do that, she needs Levi. She’ll have to give up her name and let him in completely or lose the best thing that’s ever happened to her.

For fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson, THE COLOR PROJECT is a story about the three great loves of life—family, friendship, and romance—and the bonds that withstand tragedy.

People assume that reading a book for a first time is the best experience you’ll ever have. I read the Color Project for the first time several years ago and loved it but when I read it now, as a book, as a wonderful first book baby that Sierra has created–it was one of the best experiences I’ve ever head in my tiny book-filled life.
First of all, if you’re going to read this book, I highly recommending looking Sierra’s official TCP chapter titles playlist up on Spotify and listening to each song while reading its corresponding chapter, IT CHANGED MY READING EXPERIENCE SO MUCH AND TBH I DON’T DESERVE THIS BOOK.
Also prepare to be emotionally destroyed.
This book… I can’t even find words to describe it. I love every part of it, Levi, Bee. Keagan. GRETCHEN (tbh Gretchen is who I aspire to be in life)
The writing is an absolute delight to read and even though this book is pretty long for a contemporary, the story will envelop you so completely that you’ll barely notice it passing by. The family in this book is absolute goals. A lot of YA book these days don’t feature present parents or happy families, so it was so perfect to find both in the Color Project
Also totally still on subject but I want an epilogue with Bee and Levi’s proposal/wedding/first child/Gretchen as the godmother. Maybe a sequel?? OH GOD PLEASE LET THIS HAPPEN SOMEDAY.
I’ve tried to say this before, but reading TCP is like having a perfect day. This is one of those books that makes you so happy you want to cry and dance and live and love and be amazing. It definitely has dark moments but at its core its a rainbow house covered in glitter, eclipsed by the sunset and spreading hope throughout the world.
I can’t wait to read more of Sierra’s books, and see what she has planned next. If it’s even half as good as TCP I can promise you I’ve got my debit card on standby ❤️❤️

five

What book have you have read that just makes you deliriously happy?

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s