Book Review: the Evaporation of Sofi Snow

img_3587Ever since the Delonese ice-planet arrived eleven years ago, Sofi’s dreams have been vivid. Alien. In a system where Earth’s corporations rule in place of governments and the humanoid race orbiting the moon are allies, her only constant has been her younger brother, Shilo. As an online gamer, Sofi battles behind the scenes of Earth’s Fantasy Fighting arena where Shilo is forced to compete in a mix of real and virtual blood sport. But when a bomb takes out a quarter of the arena, Sofi’s the only one who believes Shilo survived. She has dreams of him. And she’s convinced he’s been taken to the ice-planet.

Except no one but ambassadors are allowed there.

For Miguel, Earth’s charming young playboy, the games are of a different sort. As Ambassador to the Delonese, his career has been built on trading secrets and seduction. Until the Fantasy Fight’s bomb goes off. Now the tables have turned and he’s a target for blackmail. The game is simple: Help the blackmailers, or lose more than anyone can fathom, or Earth can afford. 

This book and I had a strange relationship. And while I have nothing against it p, I am going to give my honest opinion. While I really did enjoy the last half of the plot, for the first 60% of this I kept forgetting important things, having to go and look back, and honestly for the most part I felt really disconnected with the main character.
I feel like this is one of those books that the second read is infinitely better than the first(I.e. Red Ring, Siren’s Fury)
But problems aside, I really appreciate the message Mary Weber had weaved into this book. It’s definitely an eye-opening read about human trafficking and I pm definitely excited to continue with the series, I have all the trust that this book will be better when I reread it.
However, even though Sofi and I didn’t click, I still can say that Mary Weber’s writing is absolutely superb. She really can weave a story!
Also I love Miguel!! I didn’t like him at first because of the whole “ex-playboy” trope, but her really did grow on me!
Overall, this was still a pretty enjoyable read and I can’t wait to read the next book!
DISCLAIMER- these thoughts are all my own. While you can choose not to read this book because of them, if you really want to read it GO FOR IT. this was just my experience, and NO ONE experiences a book the same exact way. So definitely check it out if you’re interested!!

three

Have you ever reread a book and found it better the second time than the first?

8 thoughts on “Book Review: the Evaporation of Sofi Snow”

  1. That cover is fab. Really too bad the book was like that though… I think I know what you mean. Sometimes when they have too many names / too much politics, this happens. I couldn’t say about rereading, I rarely ever reread, to be honest! Especially after becoming a blogger 🙂 now it’s all NUMBERS NUMBERS NUMBERS 😀 haha. Maybe you know what I mean 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

