Book Review: The Writing Desk

19179093b4ec86dcf54de4b2b4faa514Tenley Roth’s first book was a literary and commercial success. Now that her second book is due, she’s locked in fear. Can she repeat her earlier success or is she a fraud who merely found a bit of luck?
With pressure mounting from her publisher, Tenley is weighted with writer’s block. But when her estranged mother calls asking Tenley to help her through chemotherapy, she packs up for Florida where she meets handsome furniture designer Jonas Sullivan and discovers the story her heart’s been missing.
Born during the Gilded Age, Birdie Shehorn is the daughter of the old money Knickerbockers. Yet her life is not her own. Under the strict control of her mother, her every move is decided ahead of time, even whom she’ll marry. But Birdie has dreams of her own. She wants to tell stories, write novels, make an impact on the world. When she discovers her mother has literally destroyed her dreams, she must choose between submission and security or forging a brand new way all on her own.
Tenley and Birdie are from two very different worlds. Yet when Tenley discovers Birdie’s manuscript, their lives intersect. Birdie’s words help Tenley find a way home. Tenley brings Birdie’s writing to the world.
Can two women separated by time help fulfill each other’s destiny?

Time hop stories and I have always had a rocky relationship. I don’t always notice the time jump so it’s just a mess. But this was the second one I’ve read that I actually liked. Yay! Despite my aversion to them, I unconsciously like to sign myself up to read them. 😐
While it took a little while to get into this, I did really enjoy it. I totally didn’t buy the romance between Holt and Tenley, so that held me back a little.
For me, this book, and the characters of Tenley and Birdie, were easy to relate to, as I myself am a writer. The main struggle of the first half of the story(Tenley trying to break through writer’s block/worried she’ll never write another good book) was easy to relate to since it was a struggle that every writer, including myself, has had those fears.
Let me just say; I absolutely loved Jonah and his family! That’s one of my favorite parts of reading Christian fiction–the strong, loving, welcoming family of a major character who eat good food, have traditions, and are generally the best. Jonah as a character was absolutely perfect, moral to a fault, and an amazing follower of Jesus.
This book was a delicious exploration of morals, disconnected family, and broken relationships. I loved every second and cried my way through a good chunk of it. It’s always such a blessing to see the struggles of writers in every age represented in books. To sum it up, this book was amazing, I felt all the feels, cried all the tears, and laughed all the laughs!

four-point-5

How do you feel about time hop stories? Yay or nay?

Leave a Reply

