Guest Book Review: Ever the Hunted

Hi! My name is Rimpy and I run a blog called Rimpy’s Reads! For this post Lucy and I decided to do a blog switch with our reviews for Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill!

If you enjoy my post please click here to visit my blog and here for my Twitter! I love to meet new people and I’d love to have you join my little blogging family!

I apologize in advance for my slightly rant-y review for this novel, it just wasn’t something that appealed to me the way I wished it did!


Goodreads Rating: 3.54/528114396

Pages: 392 pages

Publication Date: December 27th, 2016

Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers

Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult

PURCHASE HERE!

Plot:

Seventeen year-old Britta Flannery is at ease only in the woods with her dagger and bow. She spends her days tracking criminals alongside her father, the legendary bounty hunter for the King of Malam—that is, until her father is murdered. Now outcast and alone and having no rights to her father’s land or inheritance, she seeks refuge where she feels most safe: the Ever Woods. When Britta is caught poaching by the royal guard, instead of facing the noose she is offered a deal: her freedom in exchange for her father’s killer.

However, it’s not so simple.

The alleged killer is none other than Cohen McKay, her father’s former apprentice. The only friend she’s ever known. The boy she once loved who broke her heart. She must go on a dangerous quest in a world of warring kingdoms, mad kings, and dark magic to find the real killer. But Britta wields more power than she knows. And soon she will learn what has always made her different will make her a daunting and dangerous force.


⭐ ⭐


My Thoughts

I was unfortunately very let down by this novel. I was expecting a really cool fantasy with hunters and love and drama and action, but it just fell very flat for me.

In addition to the story just not doing it for me. THE CLICHES. Oh the cliches. I felt like this novel took all the ideas from previous novels I’d read and decided to put them into one – beautifully covered – book.

I thought the tracking aspect of this novel was really mind boggling. Britta claimed to be a great tracker, but we didn’t really see much evidence of this in the novel. Also, she didn’t live up to my expectations of a strong independent female once. She was very “damsel in distress” like and female characters like that don’t really appeal to me.

I have to admit, at times Britta had some great lines and I really enjoyed her sarcasm. Despite her contribution to the blatant sexism in this novel (come on, WHY), I didn’t mind her when she had good dialogue. Other than Britta’s sometimes sarcasm and some beautiful lines here and there, I wasn’t the biggest fan of the writing.

I know the romance was a semi-big part of this novel, but I don’t think I cared enough about either of the characters enough to care about their budding romance. The characters in this novel just didn’t capture my attention and I was disappointed to not be able to root for anyone.

The magic in this novel was fun, as all magic in fantasy novels are, and the action near the end of the novel did intrigue me, but unfortunately it wasn’t enough to make me want to pick up the sequel to this novel.

I feel horrible for not loving this novel as some people do, and it may be because I’m just not in the mood for it. I may or may not attempt a re-read for this novel, but currently I am just not a fan of this novel.


That concludes my review for Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill! I hope you enjoyed (despite me ranting) and if you did please leave a comment down below!

Also if you enjoyed my review and would like to see more, please visit my blog Rimpy’s Reads! I’d love to see you over there!

Thank you so much for reading and I’d also like to thank Lucy for doing this blog trade with me!

Until next time,

Screen Shot 2017-07-13 at 11.29.32 PM Rimpy Toor

Blogger & Reviewer at Rimpy’s Reads

Blog | Twitter | Goodreads

e: rimpyreads@gmail.com

a: PO Box 99900 ZY 307 014

RPO Newton

Surrey BC, Canada

V3W 1A7

 

3 thoughts on “Guest Book Review: Ever the Hunted”

Leave a Reply

