Book Review: How to Disappear

9780062291752_2317eVicky Decker has perfected the art of hiding in plain sight, quietly navigating the halls of her high school undetected except by her best (and only) friend, Jenna. But when Jenna moves away, Vicky’s isolation becomes unbearable.
So she decides to invent a social life by Photoshopping herself into other people’s pictures, posting them on Instagram under the screen name Vicurious. Instantly, she begins to get followers, so she adds herself to more photos from all over the world with all types of people. And as Vicurious’s online followers multiply, Vicky realizes she can make a whole life for herself without ever leaving her bedroom. But the more followers she finds online, the clearer it becomes that there are a lot of people out there who feel like her— #alone and #ignored in real life.
To help them, and herself, Vicky must find the courage to face her fear of being “seen,” because only then can she stop living vicariously and truly bring the magic of Vicurious to life.
In this beautiful and illuminating narrative, Sharon Huss Roat shines a light on our love of social media and how sometimes being the person you think you want to be isn’t as great as being the person you truly are.

This book is so freaking important. It’s going to take me a second to formulate slightly coherent thoughts about it, and I need a moment to wipe away my tears.

In my core, I resonate so deeply with Vicky. While my anxiety and depression manifests itself differently than hers, I still managed to see myself in her. My e-copy is half yellow from me highlighting all of the sections that spoke to me. The writing was beautiful and raw and wonderful and I’m running out of new words to use as compliments, so I’ll stop there.

This book captures exactly what it is like to live with anxiety and depression. And while it is a heavy story to tell, it’s also so very positive and bright.The story told is so very beautiful, and has a positive message on the subject of mental health.

From the second Vicurious came onto the page, I felt something for it. It was just a simple thing for Vicky, but how she used the platform she was suddenly given was absolutely wonderful.

There is a thriving dark side in social media, but this book reminds me of some of the reasons—some of the people–that make social media a place I want to be.

This book shows the power of one person, spreading hope. It’s gorgeous and amazing and I just can’t even with it. I promise I’m not just going to talk about Vicurious, even though she is a huge part of the story.

I absolutely adored the awkward, adorable, wonderful Lipton. He is lovable and I just…, *aggressively hugs book to chest like a maniac* I just loved this book so much! I can’t even come up with words or coherent thoughts to explain my love for it. It’s a story of hope, love, reconnection. It’s one of the best mental illness stories I’ve read. Ever.

Hands down it’s a favorite. It made me cry happy tears, sad tears, all of the tears. It’s such a wonderful story, and now I’m going to shut up, because y’all need to get your butts over to Amazon and FREAKING PREORDER IT.

five stars

Have you read any books lately(or ever) that capture what it feels like to have your type of mental health?

p.s. here’s a slideshow of quote graphics I made for this wonderful book!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: How to Disappear

Leave a Reply

