Book Review: Far From the Tree

942c29f6a16b0e5141402c9f1686fe1aA contemporary novel about three adopted siblings who find each other at just the right moment.
Being the middle child has its ups and downs.
But for Grace, an only child who was adopted at birth, discovering that she is a middle child is a different ride altogether. After putting her own baby up for adoption, she goes looking for her biological family, including—
Maya, her loudmouthed younger bio sister, who has a lot to say about their newfound family ties. Having grown up the snarky brunette in a house full of chipper redheads, she’s quick to search for traces of herself among these not-quite-strangers. And when her adopted family’s long-buried problems begin to explode to the surface, Maya can’t help but wonder where exactly it is that she belongs.
And Joaquin, their stoic older bio brother, who has no interest in bonding over their shared biological mother. After seventeen years in the foster care system, he’s learned that there are no heroes, and secrets and fears are best kept close to the vest, where they can’t hurt anyone but him.

Y’ALL SLEEPING ON THIS BOOK, LIKE WHAT EVEN. I have heard ABSOLUTELY nothing about it yet I cried five million times and it has AMAZING diversity rep.
I just… y’all. This book tho. I can’t even.
I find myself constantly astounded by the books Robin Benway writes. ALSO KNOWN AS was hilarious and adorable. EMMY & OLIVER was hilarious and adorable and beautiful. this one? Hilarious. Adorable. Beautiful. Amazing. Wonderful.
I’m not going to say a ton about the rep, as I am a straight, white girl, but I felt it was extremely well written. There are several romances in this story, but it wasn’t all romance. I feel like a lot of contemporaries focus so much on romance that we forget that there are other stories to tell. I was promised a hard-hitting tale of what it means to be family and that’s what this book delivered, with fascinating characters and many, many tears.
As with most contemporaries, this was a character-driven novel and that’s what really shone out to me. From chapter one, they grabbed me and pulled me in. This book made me cry for the first time before I was even 4% in,
I just can’t even put into words how hard-hitting this book is.what I love about it is the feeling it gave me while I read, the characters I laughed and cried and grew with, and the victory of watching them grow.
Adoption is something so dear to me, because without it I wouldn’t have the best little siblings ever. Its a way I someday want to give a home to a child who needs it. And this book doesn’t just show the good side of Adoption, or even just the bad. It shows both and paints a beautiful picture of three different families, what it means to be a part of a family, and how it feels to watch one fracture. This is a book I can guarantee I’ll be gifting my siblings someday, because it is so important.
But first, let’s talk romance. While it isn’t the focus of the story, it is a little side plot which I am a HUGE fan of. We have three main characters, so three main love interests. Maya’s girlfriend Claire, Joaquin’s ex Birdie, and Grace has… well she has Rafe, who is my favorite. He was respective and funny and adorable and tbh I’m stealing him if that’s allowed. All the romances were extremely different, but all very well-written and SO shippable.
There’s so much more I want to say, but I can’t find the words to voice how strongly I love this book. You won’t understand unless you read it. GO. READ. IT.

5

What book do you love that you heard almost no one raving about it?

Leave a Reply

