Muse Monday #10

This week my inspiration is from serving others. I went to stay at someone’s house for the weekend and while I was there they got a call. There was a family emergency going on the whole time I was there, and I was able to bless them through babysitting their 10 year old son, washing dishes, and taking their cat home with me(which they asked me to do!) It’s not often I feel like God is utilizing me throughout the week, especially since I spend day after day working on school, watching tv, and drinking coffee. It was such a blessing to be His arms around that family this week, and I pray that they’ll find peace in Him.

Okay, so I’m thinking about making Muse Monday a weekly blog meme! What do you guys think? Would you sign up? 

Book Review: These Things I’ve Done

these-things-ive-done-rebecca-phillipsA contemporary YA perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Jessi Kirby, THESE THINGS I’VE DONE is the story of a seventeen-year-old girl who accidentally caused her best friend’s death and, a year later, is still grappling with the consequences.
Before:
Dara and Aubrey have been inseparable since they became best friends in sixth grade. However, as they begin their sophomore year of high school, cracks in their friendship begin to form, testing the bond they always thought was unbreakable.
After:
It’s been fifteen months since the accident that killed Aubrey, and not a day goes by that Dara isn’t racked with guilt over her role in her best friend’s death. Dara thought nothing could be worse than confronting the memories of Aubrey that relentlessly haunt her, but she soon realizes it isn’t half as difficult as seeing Ethan, Aubrey’s brother, every day. Not just because he’s a walking reminder of what she did, but because the more her feelings for him change, the more she knows she’s betraying her best friend one final time.

I’m crying right now. I just finished this book mere seconds ago, and I’m crying because it was beautiful: abso-freakin-lutely beautiful. From the beginning, the story that Rachel Phillips weaves is haunting, and the emotion that drives it forward is heart-wrenching.
At first it feels like the story will be black and white, but it’s messy and complicated and wonderful.
Dara is the girl who accidentally killed her best friend. The guilt and grief that weighs her down is something that is so inspiring to watch her overcome. I loved every second of character development with her.
Ethan is her best friend’s little brother. And also adorable. And protective. And I LOVE HIM OKAY? There does turn out to be romance between Dara and Ethan, but I’m really happy with how it was handled. It turned out adorable and wonderful and CAN YOU SAY NEW OTP?? I just,,, this book is so beautiful told y’all. I can’t even.
I loved the flashbacks to Sophomore Year—it gave insight into Dara and Ethan, and what went down. It’s absolutely heartbreaking, everything that happened, and there is a kind of graphic scene (blood, gore)
I just… I keep trying to come up with coherent thoughts about this book but it was just so good. Beautiful. Absolutely heart-wrenching. But it’s not just a story of a dark time in Dara’s life. It’s about the hope, the life after losing someone you love. It’s about the light that will inevitably lift you from the darkness. That even after something so horrible as losing a friend, accidentally causing a death, there is life. It gets better. Maybe not quickly, but slowly and surely, it will get better. And after awhile, you might even be able to think of the person you lost with joy, rather than just grief.
I want to write so much more about this book, but I’ll leave you with this: it’s beautiful, wonderful, at times hilarious, and I LOVE IT. go freaking read it.

five stars

What book have you read lately that is just so beautiful that it made you cry?

ARC August TBR!

Okay, so I’m super pumped to do this readathon again! I always get swamped with tons of ARCs around this time of year(allllll the fall releases omg!) and this readathon is the perfect way to motivate myself to get through a lot of them. So this TBR is basically going to be like half my ARCs in order of when they release!

This is just a quick TBR, so they’re won’t be a synopsis for any of these, but they’re all up on goodreads!

WICKED LIKE WILDFIRE – I can’t wait for this one! I’m going in completely blind to everything but that  g o r g e o u s  cover so what could go wrong??

THE ART OF FEELING – I’m actually really excited for this one? It’s about chronic pain(I think!) and that’s something I don’t deal with, so I love getting views into someone else’s life and pain and being educated to better live and interact with people.

YOU DON’T KNOW ME BUT I KNOW YOU – So this has a WOC main character!! and it’s about teen pregnancy, which is something that happens all too often. I always like seeing different views on the subject.

THE GIRL WITH THE RED BALLOON – tbh I have legit forgotten ALL THE THINGS about this book. I feel like I remember something about time travel?? shippy romance?? idk.

EVEN THE DARKEST STARS – Yeah I know nothing about this book. BUT HAVE YOU SEEN THAT COVER??

BEFORE SHE IGNITES – this is by the author of THE ORPHAN QUEEN which I have heard mixed things about. but I’m still excited for it and can’t wait to read it!

ONE DARK THRONE – Got chills as I set this on my TBR. THIS IS THE SEQUEL TO THREE DARK CROWNS PEOPLE OMG DYING. I can’t even. I MUST GET TO THIS. also I kind of need to reread THREE DARK CROWNS haha.

Are you doing ARC August? Are you not doing it? TELL ME ALL THE TBR THINGS!

Muse Monday #9

This week I designed a cover. But the different thing about this one is that it will be printed!!
on actual physical books!! like what even. It is so surreal–I cannot even right now! So here’s the coverrrrrrrr….

doubt the stars layout - second cover

 

I’m so proud of it and I cannot wait until I see it in person!

What has inspired you this week?

Guest Book Review: Ever the Hunted

Hi! My name is Rimpy and I run a blog called Rimpy’s Reads! For this post Lucy and I decided to do a blog switch with our reviews for Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill!

If you enjoy my post please click here to visit my blog and here for my Twitter! I love to meet new people and I’d love to have you join my little blogging family!

I apologize in advance for my slightly rant-y review for this novel, it just wasn’t something that appealed to me the way I wished it did!

Continue reading

Favorites of the Month

I feel like every time I get to the end of the month I am so shocked that it’s here but whatever, here’s my fave books from July!

img_4625

This book was a super fun boat trip read! I found the romance delightful and the writing delicious. The story laid out was full of emotion and wonderfulness.

img_4655I’m still in shock that I managed to get an ARC of this. I loved it(IT’S A KASIE WEST BOOK HOW COULD I NOT LOVE IT???) and devoured it in one freaking hour. One hour!! It was amazing.

these-things-ive-done-rebecca-phillipsThis book was such a surprise for me. I didn’t know much going in, and it was absolutely beautiful. It made me cry and feel and the feels and I LOVE IT OKAY???

so that’s the books I loved in July!

What was your favorite book that you read in July?

Muse Monday #8

Four days ago I had a random idea and posted this tweet:

It blew up. 87 replies, 29 retweets, and 94 likes. I’m absolutely blown away by how well it did and I had to make TWO group chats for all the book bloggers that wanted in. It was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made on twitter and I just feel so blessed and inspired. I’ve spent the past few days talking with other bloggers about everything from cats to books. It’s been such a blessing.

What has inspired you this week?