Mini Book Review: You’re Gonna Love Me

Youre-Gonna-Love-Me-coverWho knew fate could twist a tragedy into a second chance at love?
Samantha Winters lives her life the way a good accountant should—measured, deliberate, and safe. After watching her father die in a tragic skiing accident, she decided never to allow risk into her life again. But she didn’t count on falling for Nick Chastain, who embodies everything she doesn’t want in her safely constructed world.
Against Samantha’s warnings, Nick plans a dangerous kayaking trip over spring break. Furious that he’s so careless with his life, she ends their fledgling relationship with harsh words.
Two years later, Samantha is desperately in need of a change. When she learns her grandmother has had an accident and is in need of a caretaker, Samantha quickly packs her bags and heads to Thunder Creek, Idaho. But nothing could prepare her for the surprise awaiting her in her grandmother’s hospital room . . . Nick.
With the charming backdrop of small-town friends, beloved cousins, and a whole church congregation rooting for them, can they set aside the disastrous ending of their first try at love? Has Nick changed enough to meet Samantha in the middle—and can she realize that a risk in love might be worth taking?

One of the reason I read YA is because my old stomping ground, Christian romance fiction, had become to feel repetitive and repeated. Every new story I read felt like the last. I think I’ve just read too many Christian romance fiction novels lately, because I am beginning to feel that way again. 😱
I did enjoy this book. I’m not saying that I don’t enjoy similar stories, but something that is required for a book to be a favorite is for it to stand out. To me, this book didn’t do that.
Before I go much further, here’s a disclaimer:this book is not bad, and Christian romance fiction isn’t bald I simply grow tired of it if I read a little too much of it.
The romance was very sweet, though I did feel like the story was lacking a little in that department, and there wasn’t enough of the book focused on the romance.
I did find myself confused on several occasions when there was flashback scenes. They weren’t used to tell the story really, not in an every other chapter kind of way. They was barely there, and not common enough to be distinguished as a separate time from the other parts of the book.
Overall, this was a nice story. But.. it didn’t stand out enough for me, and felt very similar to other books of its niche genre.

3

What genre feels repetitive to you?

1 thought on “Mini Book Review: You’re Gonna Love Me

Leave a comment